Zen and the art of Mobile Maintenance.

I’m not going to elaborate on how technology has advanced, and now man is dependent on it and that’s a bad thing. There are enough people doing that already. As true as that idea may be but you have to agree that technology has made life easy and work simpler.

I’ve used a number of smartphones over the years, some that were ‘cutting edge’ technology when I got them and some that ‘off the ledge’ obsolete. None of them have so far satiated my hunger for multitasking, in fact, any device I’ve used extensively has given me this problem.

Lag, Lack of memory. 

And the funny part is that I’m not a hardcore tech dependent user.
Nor am I a developer or a coder or a hacker. And I’m definitely not even close to being a gamer.

So what am I? I’m the ‘common man’!

I listen to music, I watch the occasional movie. I check my social networks. I browse the web. Check my e-mail once every while. I text. I call. I spin my phone around in my palms. And done.

These are the things that I expect to do easily on my smartphone. Whether I get to do that… that’s a different argument altogether.

I’m a man of simple pleasures. I ‘adjust’. If my phone pops up an error saying ‘memory low’. I delete my inbox, transfer all data to memory card, even run around the phone in circles and do the Mexican hat dance.

And viola! Memory still low.
No I’m the common man here, remember. And you don’t underestimate the power of the common man.

So I unleash the common man’s biggest superpower – to adjust.

I remove my whatsapp. Yes, I hear rants from friends and family. They want me to be on their list of ‘people I can communicate to in smileys’. But I give all that up to clear some memory.

3 months of no whatsapp and BOOM! Memory low again.

Some say I can get that easily, just by buying a ‘nice’ phone. By nice they mean something in the 20’s.  It’s been a year and a half since I bought this phone for almost 13k. 13k sounds measly in comparision with the iphones and the s4’s of the world, but if we think about it…

How many of us salaried individuals got 13k straight-up in our first paycheck? We know the answers in our hearts. When I pay that kind of money, which was equivalent to my month’s salary back then. I want satisfaction. And no I didn’t pick the ‘wrong phone’ I compared, monitored other phones before making my choice. I choose not to name any brands, for I don’t want to invite fanboys.

And by paying a certain amount I purchased a ‘medium‘ that introduced and then made me addicted to unique possibilities. A phone that could basically replace a computer in day-to-day online errands. And slowly, as I got accustomed to it, it started taking it all away, inch-by-inch.

In one of the recent indibloggers meet, (I’ve made it a habit to not miss ‘em) a fellow blogger Simply Sud gave an educative outlook on how smartphones are getting lamer and offering us things that we don’t need and in return compromising the things we really want.

Now more than ever I agree with his views.

Nowadays, phones just survive the warranty period and then start begging to be replaced. Yes I know that’s how smartphone companies make money but we should realize that’s how we lose our money. Saving for almost a year and buy your favourite iphone? Boom! the company has upgraded that phone and increased the price and made it better than the one you’re using.

(…and i say iphone because it’s probably the most easily recallable phone ever.)

The world’s moving into our smartphones. Kids learn using smartphones before they learn to make friends. Advertisers are investing big bucks in reaching out to consumers through their cell phones. So how about urge the manufacturers to make the phones good enough for us to view your content, in any circumstance?

When first asked to write a piece on ‘if your phone had a superpower…’ I came up with this…

“…one that would help me mail with ease, access and edit documents, check social media extensively, and not lag at crucial moments. Help me stay ahead of my colleagues/peers/competitors.”

In other words.
Become ‘The Multi-tasker

But then I thought to myself, yes ‘Survival of the fittest’ is still a relevant premise. But it’s not the sword that makes a man a legend, it’s how the man makes use of the sword.

The only superpower I would want my smartphone to possess is ‘honesty’. I’d want it to do what its marketers have promised and continue to do that for at least a few years, rather than fade away as months go by.

Once I have that, once I know my phone won’t be outdated anytime soon and it’s features will still stay relevant… I’ll have at least one thing less to worry about.

Perhaps it can tell me when it’s reaching its shelf-life, when it’s about to start developing errors?

So I urge smartphone manufacturers. Please make a cell phone that exudes honest. One that does what you say it will…and continue to do it till it survives. And once a brand ever decides to announce such a phone, I believe that will be the true revolution.

I’m pretty sure many of you will agree with this. It’s funny that we live in a technologically advanced world today, where honesty would be considered a super-power. But that’s the super-power I want in my future phones.

This article was in response to the Asus ZenFone #IncredibleZen contest, it’s a new phone in the market, and if that phone is ‘honest’ and is as awesome as it claims… I’m sure it’ll be on my list. (You can check it out here –www.asus.com/campaign/zenfone/IN/)

Heck, if they like what I wrote, they might even gift me a ZenFone!

I agree this article might not be the most entertaining one of the lot. But I’m certain it will be the one of the most honest. (Wait…does that make me superhuman?)

One thought on “Zen and the art of Mobile Maintenance.

  1. Pingback: Ready to Redefine | Quite Literary, Quite Literally!

Feedback Please.. :)

